The Best FIFA Football Awards™

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

Thursday 17 December 2020

The Best FIFA Football Awards

A decade of the very best Puskas goals

The FIFA Puskás Award trophy
  • We look back on ten years of sublime Puskas Award winners
  • Cristiano Ronaldo struck the 2009 winner
  • Mohamed Salah stands as the current holder

Back in 2009, the footballing world was introduced to a brand new crown, recognising the pinnacle of one thing everyone loves about football: goals.

That, of course, was the FIFA Puskas Award.

Since then, the ten trophies handed out have enshrined in the history books moments of magic that have left mouths open and captured the imaginations of fans across the planet.

These majestic acts – from free-kicks and flying volleys to astounding invention and individual skill – have certainly not been scored only by the biggest names in the game. The Puskas Award has shown that the best goal in the world has the potential to be scored at a FIFA World Cup™ or in front of a handful of people – and anyone is capable of it.

Let us walk you back in time through the past winners of the prestigious award, and don’t forget to look out for this year’s shortlist to help choose the 11th winner!

2018: Mohamed Salah

Liverpool vs Everton

In one of the fiercest derbies in world football, Salah – in the midst of the form of this life – showed strength, guile and invention to craft this Puskas winner.

2017: Olivier Giroud

Arsenal vs Crystal Palace

A goal that spawned the nickname ‘The Scorpion King’, Giroud took ingenuity to a whole new level as he plucked this strike out of the air.

2016: Mohd Faiz Subri

Penang vs Pahang

Almost physics-defying to the naked eye, Subri’s stunning free-kick saw fans across the globe get behind the Malaysian's unbelievable effort.

2015: Wendell Lira

Goianesia vs Atletico Goianiense

As a child, you’re always told to keep your eyes on the ball. Lira follows this simple lesson to the letter, and his resulting tornado of a volley is the very height of technical execution.

2014: James Rodriguez

Colombia vs Uruguay

On the grandest stage in world football, Rodriguez produced a moment of genius that helped elevate him to a household name, as his dipping volley lit up the Round of 16 at Brazil 2014.

2013: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Sweden vs England

Audacious. Athletic. Astounding. Three words that sum up many of Ibrahimovic’s jaw-dropping back catalogue of goals, but this was arguably the most unbelievable.

2012: Miroslav Stoch

Fenerbahce vs Genclerbirligi

The height of the cross, the angle of volley, the sweetness of the strike all add up to make this strike from Stoch an utterly, bewilderingly beautiful goal.

2011: Neymar

Santos vs Flamengo

While Neymar was a name already on the lips of many fans, the teenager made it clear with his silky, slaloming run that he was to be a global phenomenon – with this goal also seeing him become the youngest Puskas winner to date.

2010: Hamit Altintop

Turkey vs Kazakhstan

Blink and you miss it. What looks for a moment like a wasted, over-hit corner is transformed into a perfectly worked, stunning goal, struck with eye-watering venom, thanks to Altintop’s fierce volley.

2009: Cristiano Ronaldo

Manchester United vs Porto

The only man to feature in both the first and the latest Puskas top tens, Ronaldo’s rising, arrowing 40-yarder is precision and power in perfect unison.

Recommended Stories

Super sub Bale scores spectacular winner!

World Football

Stunning strikes that lit up 2018

31 Dec 2018

FIFA Puskás Award

FIFA Puskás Award

The FIFA Puskás Award in numbers

17 Sep 2018

FIFA Puskas Award 2018 - THE NOMINEES

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

FIFA Puskas Award 2018 - THE NOMINEES

03 Sep 2018