The FIFA Puskás Award in Numbers

  • Which players and nations have received the most nominations?

  • The youngest and oldest recipients could be rewritten

  • Lefties belie logic

Ten jaw-dropping goals will compete to emulate Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Mo Salah and others and lift the FIFA Puskás Award. Be sure to check them out and vote for the winner before midnight CEST on Monday, 1 September.

In the meantime, here are some riveting stats behind the ten masterpieces.

per cent of this year's nominees scored with first touches: Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lionel Messi, Fabio Quagliarella, Juan Quintero, Billie Simpson, Andros Townsend and Daniel Zsori. 60 per cent of the previous winners netted with first touches: Hamit Altintop, Miroslav Stoch, Ibrahimovic, Wendell Lira, Faiz Subri and Olivier Giroud.
metres from goal was the distance from which Amy Rodriguez collected possession en route to scoring her contender. No player has ever won the FIFA Puskás Award having received possession so far out.
per cent of this year’s nominees scored left-footed goals – Messi, Quintero, Rodriguez, Townsend and Zsori – a surprisingly high proportion given that only around 20 per cent of people are lefties. 30 per cent of the FIFA Puskás Award winners have been left-footers, including the last two: Giroud and Mo Salah.
years is the age at which Ibrahimovic eclipsed Giovanni van Bronckhorst to become the FIFA Puskás Award’s oldest nominee. The Swede is its oldest winner (31 in 2013). For the first time, four players in their 30s were nominated: Ibrahimovic, Quagliarella (36), Rodriguez (32) and Messi (32).
years was the age at which Zsori became the youngest-ever FIFA Puskás Award nominee for a goal in a senior game. The Debrecen attacker wasn’t even born when current rival Ibrahimovic had begun scoring goals for Malmo and turned down a trial at Arsenal because “Zlatan doesn’t do auditions”. Zsori is hoping to surpass Neymar, who was 19 years and six months, as the prize’s youngest recipient.
of the 110 all-time nominations have gone to Argentina and Brazil apiece after Messi and Matheus Cunha ensured they continue in co-leadership. They are followed by France (8), Spain (6), Mexico (5) and Sweden (5). Germany, the four-time FIFA World Cup kings and two-time FIFA Women's World Cup queens, have yet to receive a single nomination.
was the shirt number four of this year's nominees were wearing when they scored their gems: Messi, Quintero, Simpson and Townsend. No other number had more than one. Neymar, Wendell Lira and Salah have ensured that an unparalleled three FIFA Puskás Award winners have been registered by a No11.
nominations for the FIFA Puskás Award is the unprecedented total Messi has received, despite having never emerged triumphant. Neymar (five) and Zlatan Ibrahimovic (four) are the only other players with more than two nominations, with both having seized the prize.
FIFA Puskás Award nominees have been scored in the English Premier League and Spanish La Liga apiece – a joint-high for a domestic league – after Messi and Townsend heightened their respective tallies. The UEFA Champions League remains the best-represented competition (12 nominations) despite drawing a blank for the first time since 2014, with the FIFA World Cup™ second on nine.
seconds is, miraculously, all it took the ball to go from Niamh Mailey’s goal-kick, into the Cliftonville half, and back into the Sion Swifts net. Simpson, a serial scorer of long-range screamers, unleashed a devastating, first-time volley which rocketed over 15 players and 50 yards to, without bouncing, crash into the net.
women made the ten-player list for the first time: Ajara Nchout, Rodriguez and Simpson. Previously, multiple women were nominated only once: Lisa De Vanna and Louisa Cadamuro in 2013.