2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

Tabarez names provisional Uruguay squad

Uruguay coach Oscar Tabarez named his provisional 25-man 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ squad on Monday.

Newcomers in the squad include Southampton midfielder Gaston Ramirez, centre back Jose Maria Gimenez and his Atletico Madrid team-mate Cristian Rodriguez.

Also in line for their first World Cup are Lanus defender Alejandro Silva and forwards Abel Hernandez of Palermo and Christian Stuani of Espanyol.

As expected the forward line includes the star trio of Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Edinson Cavani (Paris St Germain) and Diego Forlan (Cerezo Osaka).

Uruguay, surprise World Cup semi-finalists in South Africa four years ago, will face Costa Rica, England and Italy in Group D when the tournament commences next month.

Tabarez also named three players on stand-by, who will not train with the squad: Andres Scotti (Nacional), Alvaro Fernandez (Gimnasia La Plata), Gonzalo Castro (Real Sociedad)

Uruguay squad Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray/Turkey), Martin Silva (Vasco Da Gama/Brazil), Rodrigo Munoz (Libertad/Paraguay)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (West Bromwich Albion/England), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Jose Maria Gimenez (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Martin Caceres (Juventus/Italy), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica/Portugal), Jorge Fucile (Porto/Portugal), Sebastian Coates (Nacional).

Midfielders: Egidio Arevalo Rios (Morelia/Mexico), Walter Gargano (Parma/Italy), Diego Perez (Bologna/Italy), Sebastian Eguren (Palmeiras/Brazil), Alvaro Gonzalez (Lazio/Italy), Alejandro Silva (Lanus/Argentina), Alvaro Pereira (San Pablo/Brazil), Cristian Rodriguez (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Gaston Ramirez (Southampton/England), Nicolas Lodeiro (Botafogo/Brazil).

Forwards: Luis Suarez (Liverpool/England), Edinson Cavani (PSG/France), Diego Forlan (Cerezo Osaka/Japan), Cristian Stuani (Espanyol/Spain), Abel Hernandez (Palermo/Italy).

* Squad lists are only official once they have been confirmed and published by FIFA on 16 May at 12:00 CET.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories