2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

14 June - 15 July

McDonald’s FIFA World Cup™ Fantasy

Kane crowned King, Mina the PPG VIP

England's Harry Kane and Colombia's Yerry Mina
© Getty Images
  • Kane held off Griezmann’s late charge to become the champion player
  • Mina averaged almost four points per game more than anyone else
  • Coutinho, Quintero and Ronaldo made the points-per-game XI

The distinctions keep coming for Harry Kane. As well as winning the adidas Golden Boot, the England No9 has been crowned the McDonald’s FIFA World Cup™ champion player after withstanding a fast-finishing Frenchman. Antoine Griezmann outscored Kane 20-6 over the last three rounds, but fell two points shy of matching him.

Raphael Varane edged Yerry Mina and Andreas Granqvist to finish as the highest-scoring defender, while Thibaut Courtois was the top goalkeeper and Philippe Coutinho and Luka Modric were the joint-best midfielders.

Mina, meanwhile, averaged an extraordinary 10.7 points per game – almost four points more than his nearest rival, Kasper Schmeichel.

Fantasy Teams of the Tournament

Overall XI: Thibaut Courtois; Andreas Granqvist, Yerry Mina, Thiago Silva, Raphael Varane; Denis Cheryshev, Philippe Coutinho, Luka Modric; Antoine Griezmann, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane.

Points-per-game XI: Kasper Schmeichel; Jose Gimenez, Andreas Granqvist, Yerry Mina, Thiago Silva; Denis Cheryshev, Philippe Coutinho, Juan Quintero; Cristiano Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Wahbi Khazri.

1st Harry Kane 40 6.7 11.0m
2nd Antoine Griezmann 38 5.4 10.0m
3rd Raphael Varane 34 4.9 6.0m
4th Yerry Mina 32 10.7 5.5m
4th Andreas Granqvist 32 6.4 5.0m
6th Eden Hazard 31 5.2 10.0m
6th Thibaut Courtois 31 4.3 6.0m
8th Romelu Lukaku 30 5.0 10.0m
9th Kylian Mbappe 29 4.1 9.0m
9th Ivan Perisic 29 4.1 8.5m
11th Philippe Coutinho 28 5.6 9.0m
11th Luka Modric 28 4.0 9.0m
13th Kasper Schmeichel 27 6.8 5.0m
13th Denis Cheryshev 27 5.4 5.5m
13th Artem Dzyuba 27 5.4 8.0m
13th Thiago Silva 27 5.4 6.0m
13th Benjamin Pavard 27 4.5 4.5m
13th Kieran Trippier 27 4.5 5.5m
13th Samuel Umtiti 27 4.5 6.0m
13th Lucas Hernandez 27 3.9 5.0m
21st Ludwig Augustinsson 26 5.2 5.0m
21st Thomas Meunier 26 5.2 6.0m
21st John Stones 26 3.7 5.5m
24th Mario Mandzukic 25 4.2 9.0m
24th Domagoj Vida 25 4.2 5.5m
26th Cristiano Ronaldo 24 6.0 12.0m
26th Fernando Muslera 24 4.8 5.5m
26th Kevin De Bruyne 24 4.0 10.0m
26th Hugo Lloris 24 4.0 6.0m
30th Robin Olsen 23 4.6 5.0m

Overall: Points Per Game

Yerry Mina (10.7)
Kasper Schmeichel (6.8)
Harry Kane (6.7)
Wahbi Khazri (6.7)
Andreas Granqvist (6.4)
Cristiano Ronaldo (6.0)
Ali Beiranvand (5.7)
Philippe Coutinho (5.6)
Denis Cheryshev (5.4)
Artem Dzyuba (5.4)
Antoine Griezmann (5.4)
Thiago Silva (5.4)
Jose Gimenez (5.3)
Ludwig Augustinsson (5.2)
Eden Hazard (5.2)
Thomas Meunier (5.2)
Romelu Lukaku (5.0)
Edinson Cavani (5.0)
Diego Costa (5.0)
Juan Quintero (5.0)
Mile Jedinak (5.0)
* Minimum three appearances

Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates scoring
© Getty Images

Top 5 in Profile

Harry Kane
40 points
6.7 points per game
Appearances: 6
Goals: 6
Assists: 0
Penalties won: 2
Highest-scoring performance: 16 points v Panama

Harry Kane of England celebrates victory 
© Getty Images

Antoine Griezmann
38 points
5.4 points per game
Appearances: 7
Goals: 4
Assists: 2
Penalties won: 1
Highest-scoring performance: 9 points v Uruguay

France v Croatia - 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Final - Antoine Griezmann of France kisses the World Cup trophy
© Getty Images

Raphael Varane
34 points
4.9 points per game
Appearances: 7
Goals: 1
Assists: 0
Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Uruguay

Raphael Varane of France celebrates after scoring
© Getty Images

Yerry Mina
32 points
10.7 points per game
Appearances: 3
Goals: 3
Assists: 0
Clean sheets: 2
Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Poland & v Senegal

Yerry Mina of Colombia celebrates
© Getty Images

Andreas Granqvist
32 points
6.4 points per game
Appearances: 5
Goals: 2
Assists: 0
Clean sheets: 3
Highest-scoring performance: 12 points v Korea Republic & v Mexico

Andreas Granqvist of Sweden celebrates
© Getty Images

As mentioned in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Regulations, there is no official FIFA award for the best team of the 2018 FIFA World Cup. The only official FIFA awards are the ones listed here.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

Russia 2018 - An Unforgettable World Cup

2018 FIFA World Cup™ 

Russia 2018 - An Unforgettable World Cup

15 Jul 2018

Ivan Perisic of Croatia scores his team's first goal pass Hugo Lloris of France

Russia 2018

Vote for Goal of the Tournament

15 Jul 2018