2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™

11 June - 11 July

2010 FIFA World Cup™

Draw format announced

On Sunday at 16:00 CET (15:00 GMT, 17:00 local time), the eyes of the footballing world will turn to Durban for the Preliminary Draw for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™.

FIFA General Secretary Jerome Valcke is the Master of Ceremonies for the event, which begins with the Stage Three draw for the Asian Zone. The North, Central America and Caribbean Zone is the next confederation to come under the spotlight, with the first three stages of their preliminary campaign decided upon in Durban.

Approximately an hour into proceedings, Europe will be buzzing with anticipation when its 53 teams are divided into nine qualifying groups, before the evening rounds off with the draw for the African Zone, where 48 teams will be placed into 12 groups of four teams.

For more information on the Draw Format for the Continental Zones, please click on the links to the right.

All related documents

Recommended Stories

2010 FIFA World Cup™

The qualifiers in numbers

21 Nov 2007

2010 FIFA World Cup™

African beat echoes through Draw

25 Nov 2007