2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

2014 FIFA World Cup™

Contribution pool for FIFA World Cup participants up by 37 per cent

A general view of Brazuca and the FIFA World Cup Trophy at the Maracana
© Getty Images

The total contributions for the participants of the 2014 FIFA World Cup™ will be up 37 per cent compared with the last edition in South Africa in 2010. At its meeting in Costa do Sauipe/Bahia earlier today, the FIFA Finance Committee approved an increase to the contribution pool for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ to USD 576 million, compared to USD 420 million in 2010.

The winners will receive USD 35 million, while the runners-up will obtain USD 25 million, the third-placed team USD 22 million, the fourth-placed USD 20 million, and quarter-finalists USD 14 million each. Teams that reach the round of 16 will each get USD 9 million, while those eliminated in the group stage will each receive USD 8 million. A total of USD 358 million will be shared as prize money among the 32 participating teams.

In addition, each of the 32 qualified teams will be granted USD 1.5 million for preparation costs. USD 70 million will be provided by FIFA via the member associations to the clubs whose players take part in the final competition as a contribution towards their participation.

A further USD 100 million has been allocated to the Club Protection Programme for the FIFA World Cup. This programme was launched in 2012 and is applicable on a worldwide level for all matches listed in the international match calendar for the period from 1 September 2012 until 31 December 2014, including the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

All related documents

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

Adidas CEO Herbert Hainer and FIFA Marketing Director Thierry Weil

2018 FIFA World Cup™ 

FIFA and adidas extend partnership until 2030

21 Nov 2013