2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™

31 May - 30 June

2002 FIFA World Cup™

Belgium honoured with the FIFA Fair Play Award

FIFA announced Sunday that Belgium had won the FIFA Fair Play Award at the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™. Regardless of the result of the 2002 FIFA World Cup Final in Yokohama, no team would be able to move far enough up the FIFA Fair Play standings to unseat the top three squads. Sweden finished second in the FIFA Fair Play standings and the Japanese team took the third-place spot.

As the winners of the FIFA Fair Play competition, Belgium will receive a trophy, medals, diploma and a voucher valued at USD 50,000, which shall be exchanged for a supply of adidas equipment to be used exclusively for youth team development in Belgium.

The FIFA Fair Play Award is given to the team with the best record of fair play according to a points system and criteria established by the FIFA Fair Play Committee. Since the award’s inception in 1978, only Brazil have won the award three times, earning the FIFA Fair Play Award in 1982, 1986 and 1994. Argentina is the only host country to have claimed the award (1978) and England took home the prize twice: once in 1990 and then in 1998, England shared the honour with France.

FIFA Fair Play Award Winners

  • 1978 - Argentina1982 - Brazil1986 - Brazil1990 - England1994 - Brazil1998 - England / France2002 - Belgium

Only teams that played at least four matches of the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™ final competition were eligible to win the FIFA Fair Play contest. The overall assessment of the teams during the final competition was calculated by adding the points attained at each match and dividing this figure by the number of matches played.

Explore this topic