2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

adidas Golden Boot

James Rodriguez of Colombia celebrates scoring
© Getty Images

The leading goalscorer at every FIFA World Cup™ finals is awarded the adidas Golden Boot. If two or more players are tied on goals, the winner will be decided by the total assists. If assists cannot split them, the players who played the least minutes will emerge with the prize.

The adidas Golden Boot accolade is coveted by every top striker on the planet, but only the highest scorers at the FIFA World Cup™ finals are awarded it. Have a look at past winners:

2014: James Rodriguez (Colombia) 6 Goals
2010: Thomas Muller (Germany ) 5 Goals
2006: Miroslav Klose (Germany) 5 Goals 
2002: Ronaldo (Brazil) 8 Goals
1998: Davor Suker (Croatia) 6 Goals
1994: Histro Stoichkov (Bulgaria), Oleg Salenko (Russia) 6 Goals
1990: Salvatore Schillachi (Italy) 6 Goals
1986: Gary Lineker (England) 6 Goals
1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy) 6 Goals
1978: Mario Kempes (Argentina) 6 Goals
1974: Gregorz Lato (Poland) 7 Goals
1970: Gerd Muller (Germany) 10 Goals
1966: Eusebio (Portugal) 9 Goals
1962: Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Drazen Jerkovic (Yugoslavia), Leonel Sanchez (Chile), Vava (Brazil), Garrincha (Brazil) All 4 Goals
1958: Just Fontaine (France) 13 Goals
1954: Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) 11 Goals
1950: Ademir (Brazil) 9 Goals
1938: Leonidas (Brazil) 8 Goals
1934: Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia), Edmund Conen (Germany), Angelo Schiavio (Italy) All 4 Goals
1930: Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) 8 Goals

Explore this topic