2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

6 days to go

© Getty Images

To date, six of the 19 editions of the FIFA World Cup™ have been won by the host team.

After the first two (Uruguay 1930 and Italy 1934), the hosts had to wait 32 years before they could lift the Trophy again, with England the team to oblige in 1966.

Following two wins by the hosts in 1974 (Germany FR) and 1978 (Argentina), there was another 20-year break before France became the sixth and, to date, last home favourites to prevail.

The question is: will six become seven at Brazil 2014?

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

2014 FIFA World Cup™

7 days to go

05 Jun 2014