2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

32 days to go

© Getty Images

The FIFA World Cup’s current 32-team format was adopted for the first time at France 1998.

It seems remarkable now, but just 13 teams contested the inaugural tournament in 1930, and the number scheduled to compete rose only slightly - to 16 - for the next ten editions.

Spain 1982 was the first 24-team World Cup, while Brazil 2014 will continue the recent tradition of beginning with eight groups of four. As always, though, there can only be one winner.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

2010 FIFA World Cup™

'The Media Circus': Juggling the press

08 May 2014

2014 FIFA World Cup™

The World Cup squads on FIFA.com

08 May 2014

2014 FIFA World Cup™

Landreau: France are strong outsiders

07 May 2014

2014 FIFA World Cup™

Remembering the original Corinthians

03 May 2014