2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

14 June - 15 July

Russia 2018

2 days to go: Triumphing on the pitch and the bench

The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ is drawing ever nearer – with just 2 days to go! Between now and the start of the World Cup, we will take a closer look at a different statistic from the history of the tournament each day.

2 - To date, only two men have won the FIFA World Cup™ as both a player and coach – Mario Zagallo and Franz Beckenbauer.

Zagallo became a world champion twice during his playing career, in 1958 and 1962, and was on the touchline when Brazil triumphed again in Mexico in 1970.

Franz Beckenbauer lifted the Trophy as West Germany’s captain in 1974 and as the national team manager in 1990. He was also on the losing side in the Final as a player in 1966 and as a coach 20 years later.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

1990 FIFA World Cup™

Italy 1990: West Germany triumph

30 Mar 2018

1958 FIFA World Cup™

A star is born as Brazil are champions at last

22 Mar 2007

Mexico 1970

The Beautiful Team in numbers

01 Feb 2018