2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

12 June - 13 July

2014 FIFA World Cup™

2 days to go

Mario Zagalo, coach of the victorious Brazilian 1970 World Cup team in Mexico.
© Getty Images

Just two men have won the FIFA World Cup™ as both player and coach: Mario Zagallo and Franz Beckenbauer.

Zagallo won the Trophy twice during his playing career, in 1958 and 1962, and was then in charge of the Brazil team that recaptured the title at Mexico 1970.

Beckenbauer's triumphs came in 1974 and 1990 respectively, and he was also a losing finalist in 1966 as a player and 1986 as a coach.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories