2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™

2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™

9 June - 9 July

Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

2006 FIFA World Cup™

182 penalties in FIFA World Cup History


182 penalties in FIFA World Cup History

Omar Bravo's missed penalty kick for Mexico against Portugal on 21 June was the third penalty in the current competition that was not converted; 35 of a total 182 penalties have been missed since the first FIFA World Cup in 1930.

Earlier in the same match, Portugal's Simao Sabrosa did better when he scored the 147th penalty goal in the history of the FIFA World Cup.

In their group match against Croatia on 18 June, Japan's goalkeeper Kawaguchi denied Srna his penalty, so saving the 22nd of 35 missed penalty kicks.

Total penalties awarded: 182

Penalties converted: 147 (81%)

Penalties missed: 35 (19%); saved: 22 out of 35

*Full list of penalties in FIFA World Cup™ history *

FIFA Communications Division

Berlin, 22 June 2006