2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

14 June - 15 July

Presented by

adidas Golden Ball Award

Golden Ball

The adidas Golden Ball was won by Croatia's Luka Modric as the competition’s best player. Members of the FIFA Technical Study Group determined the winner at the conclusion of the Final. Belgium's Eden Hazard and France's Antoine Griezmann finished second and third to receive the adidas Silver Ball and adidas Bronze Ball respectively.

Presented to the outstanding player at each FIFA World Cup™ since 1982, the adidas Golden Ball award has always highlighted truly exceptional players. The full list of winners:

2018: Luka Modric (Croatia)

2014: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2010: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

2006: Zinedine Zidane (France)

2002: Oliver Kahn (Germany)

1998: Ronaldo (Brazil)

1994: Romario (Brazil)

1990: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1986: Diego Maradona (Argentina)

1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy)