NIGERIA

Classement FIFA : 39


Passé en

Coupe du Monde

Féminine


7/7


Phase(s) Finale(s) / Éditions


1991

Première CM Féminine


Quarts de finale

Meilleure performance


EN ROUTE POUR

LA FRANCE

Les Nigérianes ont gagné pour la neuvième fois le tournoi qualificatif africain, non sans souffrir cependant. Elles ont terminé deuxièmes de leur groupe après avoir été battues par l'Afrique du Sud. En demi-finale puis en finale contre le Cameroun et les Banyana Banyana respectivement, les Super Falcons se sont imposées aux tirs au but.. 





L'ENTRAÎNEUR

Thomas Dennerby

L'expérimenté entraîneur suédois Thomas Dennerby a pris la tête du Nigeria en janvier 2018. Avant cela, il a entraîné la sélection féminine senior de son pays de 2005 à 2012, la conduisant à la troisième place lors de la Coupe du Monde 2011. Il continue par ailleurs à travailler pour la Fédération suédoise comme analyste et détecteur de talents.



LA STAR

Asisat Oshoala

Après ses performances brillantes à la Coupe du Monde Féminine U-20 2014, où elle a remporté le Soulier d'Or et le Ballon d'Or, ainsi que le titre de vice-championne du monde, elle a été élue Joueuse Africaine de l'Année en 2014, 2016 et 2017. L'attaquante est aujourd'hui l'atout offensif principal des Super Falcons.


Rendez-vous

à France 2019




Plus d'infos sur le NIGERIA

NIGERIA

FIFA Ranking: 39


Women's

World Cup

History


7/7


Finals / Editions


1991

First FWWC


Quarter-finals

Best achievement


THE ROAD

TO FRANCE

The Nigerians booked their latest world finals appearance by winning the CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations for a ninth time, though they were made to work hard for it. After losing to South Africa in the group phase and finishing second behind them, the Super Falcons failed to score in either their semi-final against Cameroon or the final against Banyana Banyana, winning both matches on penalties.




THE COACH

Thomas Dennerby

Thomas Dennerby took charge of the Super Falcons in January 2018, having previously coached his native Sweden’s senior women’s team between 2005 and 2012, during which time he guided them to third place at Germany 2011. The experienced Dennerby continued to work with the Swedish FA thereafter as an analyst and scout.



THE STAR

Asisat Oshoala

Oshoala exploded on to the global scene in 2014, when she won both the adidas Golden Ball and Golden Boot awards as Nigeria reached the final of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. Voted the best African player in 2014, 2016 and 2017, the powerful striker is a key weapon in the Super Falcons’ attacking arsenal.




See you

in France 2019




More info on NIGERIA