The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 ambassadors

OC president Steffi Jones is supported by FIFA Women’s World Cup international ambassador Mia Hamm as well as by national ambassadors Sandra Minnert, Renate Lingor, Britta Carlson, Silke Rottenberg and Manuela Schmermund.

The ambassadors are the living embodiment of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011, joining president Steffi Jones to give the tournament its human face.

Mia Hamm was officially presented on 29 October 2009 as first international ambassador of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011. She is one of the most famous female footballers of all time. The 37-year-old, who is a FIFA ambassador since 1995, won the FIFA Women's World Cup with the USA in both 1991 and 1999, as well as gold medals at the 1996 and 2004 Women's Olympic Football Tournaments. Furthermore, she was voted FIFA Women's World Player of the Year in 2001 and 2002 and, along with Michelle Akers, was selected by Pele as one of only two women in the FIFA 100 ranking of the 125 greatest players of all time. She scored an astounding 158 goals in 275 internationals for the USA before ending her career in the summer of 2004. Mia Hamm currently focuses her attention on the Mia Hamm Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to raising funds and awareness for bone marrow transplant patients and furthering the development of programs and initiatives for young women in sports.

After 147 appearances and 16 goals for Germany in 15 years, Sandra Minnert announced her international retirement on 1 November 2007. The former world-class defender was unveiled as a FIFA Women’s World Cup ambassador at the ceremonial opening of the OC office on 25 January.

Gifted FFC Frankfurt midfielder Renate Lingor, nicknamed Idgie by her team-mates, is a another member of the exclusive “Top 100" club of Germany internationals, and featured together with Minnert in the 2003 and 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup-winning squads.

Alongside her duties as a FIFA Women’s World Cup ambassador, former international and VfL Wolfsburg captain Britta Carlson remains active in the game as the Wolves’ assistant coach.

Silke Rottenberg, long-serving Germany goalkeeper and FIFA Women's World Cup™ winner in 2003 and 2007, joined the team of ambassadors for Germany 2011 in January 2009. Rottenberg, who was voted world goalkeeper of the year in 2003, thus completes the team supporting Organising Committee President Steffi Jones.