FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015™

Youthful experience marks Aussie squad

Clare Polkinghorne of Australia celebrates with team mates after scoring against New Zealand
© Getty Images

Australia coach Alen Stajcic has named his squad for next month’s FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™ with the 23-strong roster boasting significant experience despite a youthful feel.

Though the average age is 23, there are 13 survivors from the squad which was eliminated by Sweden in the quarter-finals at Germany 2011.

At 35 goalkeeper Melissa Hudson (nee Barbieri) is heading for her fourth Women’s World Cup, while three others – Lisa De Vanna, Clare Polkinghorne and Lydia Williams – are set for their third.

At the other end of the spectrum is 19-year-old utility Larissa Crummer who is the youngest member of the squad.

Newcastle Jets’ Emily van Egmond enters the tournament having been named the W-League Player of the Year on Monday, while Matildas’ midfield colleague Katrina Gorry is the reigning Asian Player of the Year.

Notable absentees from the squad are former skipper and Matildas’ leading goalscorer Kate Gill, goalkeeper Brianna Davey and fullback Teigen Allen.

Australia have been into a tough group alongside world No1 USA, European powerhouse Sweden and African champions Nigeria.  

Australia squad
Lydia Williams (Washington Spirit/USA), Melissa Hudson (Adelaide United), Mackenzie Arnold (Perth Glory).

*Defenders: *Clare Polkinghorne, Laura Alleway (both Brisbane Roar), Servet Uzunlar (Sydney FC), Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory), Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar).

Midfielders: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United), Emily van Egmond (Newcastle Jets), Leena Khamis (Sydney FC), Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar), Alanna Kennedy (Perth Glory), Teresa Polias (Sydney FC), Hayley Raso, Katrina Gorry (both Brisbane Roar), Nicola Bolger (Sydney FC).

Forwards: Larissa Crummer (Brisbane Roar), Caitlin Foord (Perth Glory), Lisa De Vanna (Melbourne Victory), Kyah Simon (Sydney FC), Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory), Michelle Heyman (Canberra United).

* Squad lists are only official once they have been confirmed and published by FIFA. **

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

Abby Wambach of USA scores her goal during the FIFA Women's World Cup Quarter Final match between Brazil and USA

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015™

15 for 2015: Vote for the best Women's World Cup goal

11 May 2015

Players of Brazil pose for a team photo

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015™

Vadão and Brazil ready for triple challenge

30 Apr 2015

Canada squad announcement

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015™

Canada name squad to welcome the world

28 Apr 2015