Brazil secured their sixth consecutive qualification for the FIFA Women's World Cup™ on Sunday, 21 November 2010, after winning the South American Women's Championship with a 3-1 victory against Chile. Colombia will also be making the trip to Germany 2011 after their 1-0 play-off win against Argentina guaranteed them the runners-up spot. The Colombians join Equatorial Guinea as the only qualifiers making their debut appearance at the event.

"A FIFA Women's World Cup without Brazil is almost unthinkable," wrote LOC President Steffi Jones in her congratulatory letter to the president of the Brazilian Football Association, Ricardo Teixeira. "The Brazilian women's national team turn the game of football into an art form, not least through Marta, the best women's footballer in the world at present. Our fans can look forward to football of the highest calibre," continued Jones.

The LOC President also gave a warm welcome to Colombia: "The Colombians are very meticulous in their approach to women's football. Their national team took part in the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2008 and went on to reach the semi-finals of the U-20 edition in Germany two years later. That same generation of players have continued to go from strength to strength and will now be hoping to go one step further at the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2011," wrote Jones in her letter to Colombian Football Association president, Luis Bedoya.

USA and Italy will battle it out for the last remaining place at the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 when they meet for the second leg of their play-off tie on 27 November. USA lead 1-0 from the first leg in Italy on 20 November 2010.

As well as Brazil, Colombia and hosts Germany, also qualified for next year’s showpiece event are, Australia, Canada, England, Equatorial Guinea, France, Japan, Korea DPR, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway and Sweden.

A FIFA and LOC delegation will visit each of the 15 qualified nations between December 2010 and March 2011 as part of a welcome tour. The Official Draw for the finals takes place on 29 November in Frankfurt.

Final standings
1. Brazil
2. Colombia
3. Chile
4. Argentina

Tournament MVP
Marta (BRA)

Top scorer
Marta (BRA), 9 goals

Fair Play