FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019™

FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019™

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Australia and Japan qualify for France 2019

Japan v Australia - AFC Women's Asian Cup Group B
© Getty Images
  • Australia and Japan qualify for next year's Women's World Cup
  • They earn qualification by advancing to AFC Women's Asian Cup semis
  • Korea Republic and the Philippines will play for final Asian spot at France 2019

Australia and Japan earned qualification to the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019 after their hard-fought 1-1 draw in Amman, Jordan, at the AFC Women's Asian Cup.

Japan's veteran midfielder Mizuho Sakaguchi gave the Nadeshiko the lead in the 63rd minute with a well-placed finish after Yui Hasegawa picked her out with an accurate cut-back pass. But it was Samantha Kerr, who was the hero for Australia, as she scored in the 86th minute, latching on the end of Kyah Simon's initial shot to earn the draw and, most importantly, book the Matildas' spot in France next year.

With the 1-1 draw, Australia finished top of Group B at the Women's Asian Cup on five points, just ahead of Japan on goal difference.

Australia and Japan both advanced to the semi-finals of the Asian Cup. Australia will face Thailand, while Japan will play China PR for a place in the final.

In the day's other match, Korea Republic thrashed Vietnam 4-0, thanks to goals from Cho Sohyun, Lee Geummin, and a brace from Lee Mina. Mina's first strike was the pick of the bunch, as she caught Vietnam goalkeeper Dang Thi Kieu Trinh off her goalline and drove a volley in from long distance.

Korea Republic will now face the Philippines, who were the third-place finishers in Group A, in the tournament's match for fifth place on Monday, and crucially, for the last spot in next year's world finals.

Korea Republic have yet to concede a goal at the continental tournament, securing goalless draws against Australia and Japan in their first two matches. The Philippines, meanwhile, beat hosts Jordan 2-1 on the opening matchday before losing to China PR 3-0 and Thailand 3-1.

Japan will be headed to their eighth successive Women's World Cup, while Australia make it seven in a row. Japan have been finalists at the last two Women's World Cups. They were the first Asian nation to win the Women's World Cup in 2011.

Australia's have qualified for the quarter-finals at the last three Women's World Cups.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

Li Ying of China celebrates scoring the third goal

FIFA Women's World Cup 2019™

China PR book ticket to France 2019

09 Apr 2018