FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015

7 June - 7 July

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015™

88 days to go

© Getty Images

In 1988, the FIFA Women's Invitation Tournament was held in China PR from 1 to 12 June as a case study to determine the feasibility of a FIFA Women's World Cup™ competition.

The tournament, won by Norway after beating Sweden 1-0 in the final, was deemed a success and 18 days later, on 30 June, FIFA approved the establishment of the official Women's World Cup. After hosting the successful event in 1988, China PR were awarded the opportunity to host the inaugural event in 1991.

USA, who lost to the eventual FIFA Women's Invitation Tournament champions Norway 1-0 in the quarter-finals in 1988, would go on to win the inaugural Women's World Cup three years later, exacting their revenge on Norway by beating the Scandinavian side 2-1 in the Final.

Explore this topic