Women's Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020

Women's Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020

21 July - 6 August 2021


United States National team poses before the Semifinals 
© Getty Images

Olympic record

Not only have USA taken part in every edition of this tournament, they have won four of the six held so far and taken silver in another. The one occasion they failed to grace the podium was four years ago in Rio de Janeiro, leaving the current world champions very keen to make amends in Tokyo.

The road to Tokyo

After being crowned world champions in 2019, Jill Ellis left the bench and handed the reins to Vlatko Andonovski, previously head coach of Seattle Reign and someone with extensive knowledge of the country’s National Women’s Soccer League. The new incumbent has not made major changes since taking charge, but the team’s trademark competitiveness remains as keen as ever, as does that of its most distinguished veterans, like Carli Lloyd and Ali Krieger.

Andonovski's first major challenge was ensuring USA reached the Olympics, which they did in style, winning all their games by at least three goals without conceding a single one. Christen Press, who was mostly used as a substitute at France 2019, enjoyed substantial playing time at the tournament, where a string of excellent performances and five goals earned her the best player award.

The stat

25 – The number of goals scored by the Stars and Stripes en route to Tokyo 2020, the most of any Concacaf team. They also led the way in assists (17) and shots on goal (113). An attacking outfit that finely tuned looks almost unstoppable, as USA aim to demonstrate in Tokyo.

Explore this topic