Follow us on
FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Uzbekistan 2012

Japan lead Asian trio

Japan lead Asian trio

Japan, Korea DPR and China PR have today been confirmed as Asia’s participants at the 2012 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Uzbekistan.

The trio secured their passage on the penultimate matchday of the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Missing out on qualification are Germany 2010 semi-finalists Korea Republic, Australia and Vietnam.

The key match of the day was China’s 3-1 victory against Australia in a result which ended the latter’s hopes of a first qualification since Russia 2006. China scored a goal either side of half-time before Australia’s 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ star Emily van Egmond pulled a goal back. However Ni Mengjie quickly restored the two-goal buffer against the Young Matildas who needed to claim all three points to maintain their hopes.

Meanwhile, Japan ended Korea DPR’s unbeaten run with a 2-1 scoreline after goals from Tanaka Yoko and Kyokawa Mai proved insurmountable, despite Yun Hyon Hi’s goal for the Koreans. Japan now require a victory in the final match against bottom-side Vietnam to guarantee retaining the title they won two years ago.

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Uzbekistan 2012 is scheduled to be held 18 August - 9 September.

Recommended Stories