Women's Football

France, Sweden book Papua New Guinea spots

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup trophy
© Getty Images

France and Sweden have qualified for the semi-finals of the UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship, becoming the first two teams to qualify for the next FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup, which will be played in Papua New Guinea in October-November 2016.

There are still two tickets to next year's global tournament on offer at the U-19 Champioship too. The group stage kicked off on Wednesday with victories for both the French and Swedes in Group A, respectively beating Denmark (1-0) and hosts Israel (0-3).

By Saturday the two teams had confirmed spots in Papua New Guinea, earning a second victory that guaranteed them a place in the last four. The Swedes beat their Danish neighbours 1-0, while *La Bleuettes *defeated Israel 4-0.

The first place of the Group A will be decided during the final day of the group stage on 21 July, with the clash between France and Sweden. In Group B, everything is still to be decided with Spain on six points, Norway and Germany tied with three, and England stuck on zero.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories