Media Release

Fédération Internationale de Football Association

FIFA-Strasse 20 - P.O. Box - 8044 Zurich - Switzerland

Tel: +41-(0)43-222 7777

About FIFA

High interest in hosting FIFA competitions

Trophies of various FIFA tournaments

FIFA is delighted to see the impressive interest from its member associations in hosting a FIFA competition, after the bidding process was opened for eight tournaments including the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019™. A total of 31 declarations of interest have been received and FIFA has submitted the bidding documents, which the relevant member associations have to sign and return before the FIFA Executive Committee assigns the tournament.

Five countries have declared an interest in hosting the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019™, namely England, France, Korea Republic, New Zealand and South Africa. Of these countries, England, France, Korea Republic and New Zealand also want to host the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2018. In principle, FIFA prefers these two tournaments to take place in the same country. South Africa will host the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in 2016.

For the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2018, five declarations of interest have been received: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Finland, Northern Ireland and Sweden are aiming to host the competition. For the three women’s competitions, the deadline for submitting the hosting agreement together with all the signed bidding documents is 31 October 2014, with the final decision on the hosts currently scheduled to take place at the first FIFA Executive Committee meeting in 2015.

The bidding process has also been opened for four editions of the FIFA Club World Cup, FIFA’s major club competition. India and Japan have expressed a wish to host the tournament in 2015 and 2016, while Brazil, Japan and UAE want to host it in 2017 and 2018. The complete set of bidding documents has to be provided by 25 August 2014 and the Executive Committee will select the host in September 2014.

Finally, FIFA welcomes the high level of interest in hosting the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup 2017. A total of 12 countries are aiming to host the tournament: Argentina, Bahamas, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Germany, Trinidad and Tobago, UAE and USA. These member associations will have to submit their definitive bids including all signed bidding and hosting documents by 1 October 2014. The host will be appointed by the Executive Committee at its meeting in December 2014.

All related documents

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories