FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland 2019

FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland 2019

23 May - 15 June

Portugal POR

U20 team of Portugal pose for a photo during the International Friendly
© Getty Images

FIFA U-20 World Cup record

Portugal have taken part in 11 of the 21 FIFA U-20 World Cups held to date and have won the competition twice, when their so-called ‘golden generation’ claimed back-to-back titles at Saudi Arabia 1989 and Portugal 1991, both times under Carlos Queiroz. Runners-up also at Colombia 2011, the Portuguese lost on penalties to Uruguay in the quarter-finals at Korea Republic 2017.

The road to Poland

Portugal head to the world finals as European champions after overcoming Italy in a dramatic UEFA Under-19 Championship final. Leading 2-0 with 15 minutes to go, the Portuguese were taken to extra time after a late Azzurri comeback but went on to win 4-3, with Pedro Correia scoring the winner.

The coach

A former midfielder, Helio Sousa spent his entire playing career with his hometown club, Vitoria de Setubal, and formed part of the ‘golden generation’ that won the U-20 world title in 1989. He began working with the Portuguese FA in 2010 and has taken charge of several national youth teams since then. In 2016 he guided the U-17s to the European title and then won the U-19 crown with the same group of players two years later.

The stat

5 - The number of goals that both Trincao Francisco and Joao Filipe scored at the 2018 European Under-19 Championship, making them the tournament’s joint-leading marksmen.

Explore this topic