FIFA World Youth Championship Nigeria 1999

FIFA World Youth Championship Nigeria 1999

3 April - 24 April

FIFA World Youth Championship 1999

FIFA to give Fair Play award to team with best fair play record

At every FIFA competition, the FIFA Fair Play Award goes to the team with the best record of fair play according to a points system and criteria established by the FIFA Fair Play Committee. In Malaysia in 1997, at the last FIFA World Youth Championship, this honour went to the reigning champions Argentina.

The assessment is based on six criteria by which the teams' fair play performance shall be judged, stressing the positive rather than the negative aspects. As a general rule, maximum points shall only be awarded if the team concerned displays a positive attitude.

In addition to being presented with a symbolic honour in the form of a trophy, the winning team will receive a voucher valued at USD 10,000 , which may be exchanged for adidas equipment.

Assessment Criteria

  • Red and yellow cardsPositive play
    The aim of this criterion is to reward attacking play, which appeals to spectators.Respect towards the opponent
    Players are expected to respect the Laws of the Game, the competition regulations and opponents etc.Respect towards the referee
    Players are expected to respect the match officials and the decisions they take.Behaviour of the team officials
    Coaches and other team officials are expected to encourage the sporting, technical, tactical and ethical standards of their team and to direct the players to behave in accordance with the principles of fair play.