FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015

30 May - 20 June

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Draw sets stage for New Zealand 2015

© Others

The draw for the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015 has taken place in Auckland, mapping out the group-stage challenge for each of the 24 teams involved.

Arguably the pick of the sections drawn at the impressive SKYCITY Convention Centre was Group D, which pits Mexico against 2013 runners-up Uruguay, Serbia and an as-yet undecided African opponent.

Hosts New Zealand, meanwhile, will take on Ukraine in the opening match on 30 May, this in a section that also includes USA and debutants Myanmar.

As for the tournament's other first-timers, Fiji, they face a demanding debut in the U-20 showpiece, with their first match a baptism of fire against European champions Germany.

Proceedings were conducted by FIFA's Events Director, Colin Smith and Senior Competitions Manager, Rhiannon Martin, with help from draw assistants Danny Hay, Wynton Rufer, Steve Sumner and Ivan Vicelich. There were also speeches from New Zealand's Minister for Sport and Recreation, Jonathan Coleman, and from FIFA Vice-President Jeffrey Webb, who spoke of the tournament's legendary potential for unearthing stars.

"Several of the players who have starred in previous FIFA U-20 World Cups played at last year's FIFA World Cup in Brazil, such as James Rodriguez and Paul Pogba," said Webb, who is also Chairman of the tournament's Organising Committee. "No doubt we will see more World Cup stars discovered here in a New Zealand in a few months' time. This is a wonderful competition that inspires many youngsters, both boys and girls alike, to play the game and to follow football clubs."

New Zealand 2015 will be the 20th edition of the U-20 World Cup, a tournament already famous for helping launch the careers of Diego Maradona, Ronaldinho, Lionel Messi and many more of the game's all-time greats. It will be held between 30 May and 20 June in seven cities across the country's north and south islands.

Full draw

*Group A *New Zealand

*Group B *Argentina

*Group C *Qatar

Group D

Group E
CAF Champion
Korea DPR

*Group F *Germany

The four CAF representatives will be determined at the upcoming African U-20 Championship 2015, which will take place in Senegal between 8 and 22 March.

All related documents

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

New Zealand 2015 draw

10 Feb 2015

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Meet 'Wooliam' - the New Zealand 2015 Mascot

02 Dec 2014

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2019

Stars at the FIFA U-20 World Cup

08 Apr 2013

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2007

Aguero pulls a Pele

04 Dec 2013