FIFA U-20 World Cup Colombia 2011

FIFA U-20 World Cup Colombia 2011

29 July - 20 August

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2011

Colombia 2011 Press Centre named American Press Centre of the Year 2011

Media tribune at the FIFA U-20 World Cup Colombia 2011

The FCF picked up the award, given by the Federation of American Sports Journalists (AIPS America), for Press Centre of the Year for the excellent work carried out at the FIFA U-20 World Cup Colombia 2011. The tournament’s press facility was the unanimous winner, finishing ahead of the centre at last year’s Pan American Games in Guadalajara.

This significant distinction, the only one for which every country affiliated to the AIPS voted unanimously, will be officially bestowed on FCF President Luis H. Bedoya Giraldo on March 6 at a ceremony in the Ecuadorian city of Guayaquil during the upcoming International Seminar on Football and Journalism.

Over the course of 23 days at Colombia 2011, some 200 collaborators across eight host cities met the needs of over 2,000 FIFA-accredited journalists, who were thus able to carry out their media duties at the year’s biggest international football event without a hitch.

With the provision of comfortable spaces in all media areas, quality work stations and monitors, statistical data before and during all matches, broadband internet access, catering service as well as strategic zones to facilitate the work of photographers and camera operatives, nothing was overlooked by the Colombia 2011 Local Organising Committee.

Other winners
AIPS America also honoured the Colombian journalist Hernan Pelaez Restrepo, who received the 2011 Abelardo Raidi Prize as the year’s outstanding journalist in recognition of his long and distinguished career and immense contribution to the guild.

Dr Pelaez was nominated for the award by the Colombian Association of Sports Journalists (ACORD) and received the backing of several other national associations of sports journalists across the Americas.

During the ceremony, the AIPS also honoured Cuban pole-vaulter Lazaro Borges as Best Male American Athlete, his compatriot and discus-thrower Yarelis Barrios as Best Female American Athlete, and the Uruguayan national football team as Team of the Year.