FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland 2019

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Quartet book ticket to New Zealand 2015

© Getty Images

Austria, Germany, Portugal and Ukraine have qualified for the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015. With a 3-0 victory over Israel in the UEFA European U-19 Championship in Hungary, Austria was the first team to secure their ticket to the tournament from May 30 to June 20 2015 in Oceania.

Sinan Bytyqi's penalty, alongside strikes from Florian Grillitsch and Valentin Grubeck ensured the clear victory in the Szusza Ferenc Stadium in Budapest, which qualified Austria for the U-20 World Cup after making their last appearance at Canada 2007. In the second game in Group A, Portugal cruised past hosts Hungary 6-1. Andre Silva scored four times and secured passage to New Zealand for his team alongside Austria. 

In Group B, leaders Germany drew 2-2 with Serbia. A late equaliser from Niklas Selke secured Germany's early qualification as a result of Ukraine's late victory over Bulgaria in the second match. Vyacheslav Tankovskiy scored minutes before the final whistle to send his team to Oceania next year. The top six teams qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015, leaving two more spaces to available to the teams fighting for European supremacy in Hungary.

Explore this topic

Recommended Stories

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Germany 2-2 Serbia (UEFA U-19 Championship)

23 Jul 2014

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Europe's young elite eye world stage

18 Jul 2014

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

History-makers Fiji clinch U-20 spot

31 May 2014

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015

Kiwi legend brings trophy to sacred ground

30 Apr 2014