FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup France 2018

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup France 2018

Mexico MEX

Mexico v Brazil: Group B
© Getty Images

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup record 
France 2018 will represent El Tri's eighth appearance at the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. They reached the quarter-finals on three occasions (2010, 2012 and 2016), but have failed to progress past the last eight in the tournament.

The road to France 
Mexico made history when they were crowned regional champions for the first time after they defeated rivals USA in the final of the CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championship in Trinidad and Tobago. Mexico eased past Jamaica 4-0 and Nicaragua 2-0, before losing to USA 2-1 in the group stage of the tournament. They went on to defeat Canada and USA on penalties after 1-1 draws thanks in large part to Emily Alvarado, who earned the tournament's top goalkeeper award.

The coach 
Christopher Cuellar has been the coach of Mexico's U-20 and U-17 women's national teams for several years. He coached the U-17s at two previous World Cups (2012 and 2016) and the U-20s at two previous World Cups (2014 and 2016). He is the son of former Mexico midfielder and former women's senior national team coach Leonardo Cuellar.

The stat 
5 – Cuellar knows he can rely on several players to score goals at France 2018; five different players provided the nine goals they scored at the CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championship.

Explore this topic