FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup France 2018

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup France 2018

5 August - 24 August

Germany GER

Nigeria v Germany: Germany team group photo
© Getty Images

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup record 
Germany’s youngsters are perennial favourites in this competition, having lifted the trophy on three previous occasions. At Thailand 2004, Simone Laudehr and Melanie Behringer led their team-mates to victory, before Alexandra Popp and Dzsenifer Marozsan helped repeat the feat on home soil six years later. At the 2014 tournament in Canada, it was Lena Petermann who fired Germany to their third FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup triumph, with an extra-time strike against Nigeria in the final. After navigating the group stage flawlessly at the last edition in Papua New Guinea, the German U-20s’ campaign came to an early end, as they suffered a 1-0 defeat to France in the quarter-finals.

The road to France
Germany and the Netherlands progressed to the semi-finals of the UEFA European Women’s U-19 Championship as group winners, booking their tickets to France 2018 in the process. During the group stage, coach Maren Meinert’s side beat Scotland 3-0 and Spain 2-0, and were at their most formidable in a 6-0 win over Northern Ireland. Despite this dominance, Germany failed to reach the final, squandering a 1-0 lead to lose 2-1 to France in the last four.

The coach
After a successful playing career, in which she won the FIFA Women’s World Cup title in 2003 and was a three-time European champion in 1995, 1997 and 2001, Maren Meinert continued this success into her coaching career by guiding Germany’s youngsters to a string of titles. Victory at the 2010 U-20 Women’s World Cup on home turf cemented Meinert’s place among the top echelon of coaches and spurred her on to achieve yet more success, as her young charges beat off the competition at Canada 2014 to lift their third trophy after 2004 and 2010.

The stat
32 – Germany coach Maren Meinert has taken her place on the touchline for a record 32 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup matches over five tournaments.

Explore this topic