Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Steffi Jones congratulates European qualifiers

England and Sweden rubber-stamped their tickets to the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011™ in the European play-offs on Thursday. They join France and Norway, who had booked their place at the finals on Wednesday.

OC President Steffi Jones took the opportunity to congratulate each of the qualified nations in a personal letter to the respective association presidents. "France, Norway, England and Sweden are all established women's football nations who will no doubt be among the favourites at the Women's World Cup 2011. All four teams have some top-class players - some of whom we know from previous Women’s World Cups and the women's Bundesliga - and they will no doubt prove major attractions at the tournament," said Jones.

As well as France, Norway, England, Sweden and hosts Germany, Australia, Japan and Korea DPR have already qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011.

The rest of the participating nations will be determined as follows:

Africa (CAF): *Two teams*

Qualification: African Women's Championship from 29 October until 14 November in South Africa.

South America (CONMEBOL): *Two teams*

Qualification: South American Women's Championship from 28 October until 14 November in Ecuador.

North, Central America and Caribbean (CONCACAF): *Two teams*

Qualification: CONCACAF Qualification from 28 October until 8 November 2010 in Mexico.

Oceania (OFC): *One team*

Qualification: The OFC Women's Nations Cup takes place between 29 September and 8 October 2010 in New Zealand.

The final qualifier for Germany 2011 will be determined via a play-off between the third-placed team in the CONCACAF Zone and the fifth-placed team from UEFA. The matches will be played on 20 and 27 November 2010.

The draw for the finals will take place on 29 November 2010 in Frankfurt.