Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

German women honoured by FIFA

Silvia Neid (German national team coach since 2005) and Linda Bresonik (international player), both women's world champions in 2003 and 2007, accompanied by the President of the German Football Association (DFB), Theo Zwanziger, were today awarded the FIFA Women's World Champions Badge by Joseph S. Blatter at the Home of FIFA.

The German women's side will display the badge, which marks their last World Cup success, on their jerseys from 22 April, when they play a friendly against Brazil, up until the final whistle of the next FIFA Women's World Cup™ in 2011. To date, Germany are the only women's team to have claimed two consecutive FIFA Women's World Cup titles.

"I am delighted to present the Women's World Champions Badge to the German women's team. The title, which they claimed in China in 2007 and will defend at home in 2011, represents all of the hard work undertaken by the German Football Association over many years. With over one million registered female players and a prestigious collection of European and international trophies, Germany serves as an example to others in terms of women's football development," said FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

Theo Zwanziger added: "It is a great honour for us to wear this badge. It recalls not only the great performances Germany put in to win the title in China in 2007, but also the many successes we recorded at other international tournaments in recent years. We also see this honour from FIFA as recognition of the work of the DFB in general in developing women's and girls' football. We will wear the Champions Badge with pride until the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 in Germany."

Germany will be the focal point for women's football over the next two years, as it will host the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in 2010 as well as the FIFA Women's World Cup in 2011.