Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

FIFA Women’s World Cup board of trustees presided by Dr Thomas Bach

Twenty top figures from the worlds of politics, finance, sport, the media, the arts and culture will make up the board of trustees for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011, which convened ahead of the announcement of the venues this Tuesday in Berlin for its constituent meeting. The chairman is Dr Thomas Bach, President of the German Olympic Federation, while his deputy is German Federal Minister for the Interior Dr Wolfgang Schauble.

"The chance to host the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 is as much a gift to the whole of Germany as the FIFA World Cup 2006 was. Once again we have a great opportunity to show that we are open and welcoming hosts. This time we will be adding an extra feminine touch to the event. The whole of German sport as well as all other areas of society are supporting the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011. We will all have a role to play in the success of this great collective achievement," said Dr Thomas Bach.

The main role of the board of trustees will be to advise the Organising Committee of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 and the presiding committee, comprising German Football Association (DFB) President Dr Theo Zwanziger, Treasurer Horst R. Schmidt, Vice President Hannelore Ratzeburg und General Secretary Wolfgang Niersbach, on fundamental issues. Furthermore, the board via its members will promote contact with the worlds of finance, politics, art and culture.

"The members of the board of trustees are all admired and respected, which underlines the significance of girls' and women's football in Germany. Quite apart from carrying out its daily work, I believe that the board will serve as a guarantee for the sustainability of our World Cup project," summarised OC President Steffi Jones.

Board of trustees of the OC of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011:


Dr Thomas Bach, President of the German Olympic Federation

Deputy Chairman:

Dr Wolfgang Schauble, German Federal Minister for the Interior


Prof. Dr Maria Bohmer, Federal Government Officer for Immigration, Refugees and Integration

Lorenz Caffier, President of the Conference of German Sports Ministers

Dr Peter Danckert, Chairman of the Sports Panel in the German Parliament

Joachim Fuchsberger, Actor and entertainer

Petra Hedorfer, Chairman of the Board of the Registered German Office for Tourism

Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, President of the Conference of German Cultural Ministers

Prof. Dr h. c. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe Institute

Liz Mohn, Deputy Chairperson of the Bertelsmann Foundation

Klaus-Peter Muller, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Commerzbank AG

Dr h. c. Engelbert Nelle, Honorary Vice President of the German Football Association

Bernd Neumann, Federal Government Officer for Culture and the Media

Dr Reinhard Rauball, President of the League Association

Patricia Riekel, Chief Editor of BUNTE magazine

Claudia Roth, Federal Chairperson of Bündnis 90 /The Green Party

Dr h. c. Petra Roth, Mayoress of the City of Frankfurt

Markus Schachter, Director of ZDF

Ursula von der Leyen, Federal Minister for the Family, the Aged, Women and Young People

Jurgen R. Thumann, President of the Registered Federal Association of German Industry