Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

FIFA, OC to tour Germany 2011 grounds

From 23 March until 1 April 2009, representatives of world football's governing body FIFA and the local Organising Committee (OC) will conduct the first joint inspection tour of the nine venues for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011™. The 32-game tournament will take place from 26 June to 17 July 2011.

"The stadiums have an immensely important role to play in hosting the FIFA Women's World Cup. Our goal is to provide the best possible environment for the participating teams, the media, and especially the fans. The stadiums will be the starting point for a wave of passion to roll out over the entire nation," commented OC President Steffi Jones.

The focus of the inspection tour will be coordinating the space and facilities to be set aside for the FIFA Women's World Cup, including media centres, broadcast technology, accreditation centres, and security, transportation and ticket offices. The facilities required by FIFA for the global tournament often significantly exceed arrangements for normal matchday operations.

The FIFA delegation will be headed by Tatjana Haenni, head of the FIFA Women's competitions section. The OC delegation comprises general coordinator Ulrich Wolter and the following heads of department: Heike Ullrich (tournament organisation), Doris Fitschen (marketing), Winfried Naß (cities and stadiums) and Jens Grittner (media and communication). Appropriate local representatives and experts will be on hand at each venue.

The delegation will also assess the training facilities and team hotels put forward by each host city. In addition to the nine host cities for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011, the inspection tour also takes in Bielefeld, venue for the Final of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup on 1 August 2010.

Inspection tour dates: 23 March 2009: Frankfurt am Main 24 March 2009: Leverkusen 25 March 2009: Monchengladbach 26 March 2009: Bochum 27 March 2009: Bielefeld 28 March 2009: Wolfsburg 29 March 2009: Dresden 30 March 2009: Berlin 31 March 2009: Augsburg 1 April 2009: Sinsheim