Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

FIFA and the LOC to head tour of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 participating nations

FIFA and the President of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011 Local Organising Committee (LOC) Steffi Jones are to head a Welcome Tour of the 15 countries participating in next summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011™.

Each visit of the six-leg tour starting in December will feature two events. One event will have a specific women’s football focus where FIFA alongside the host Football Association will promote both the FIFA Women’s World Cup and the importance of women’s football development. Another event will see the LOC in cooperation with the German Federal Foreign Office provide an update on current state of preparations and essential details regarding next summer’s competition to 150 invited guests from the worlds of politics, sport, business and culture. The delegation led by Jones will clock up a total of some 120,000 kilometres and 180 hours in the air.

Sydney is the starting point for the 2011 Welcome Tour on 8 December 2010, before moving across the Tasman Sea to Auckland on 10 December.

The FIFA and OC Welcome and Promotional Tour of the participating nations is the “first” in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

“This tour is a fantastic opportunity for us to introduce ourselves as welcoming hosts, and continue to drive international awareness of the FIFA Women’s World Cup. Simultaneously, our goal is to boost the women’s game by deploying FIFA’s wide-ranging expertise,” commented Jones.

“One of the FIFA’s mission is to develop the game” said Tatjana Haenni, Head of FIFA Women’s Competitions. “This promotional tour alongside one of the world’s strongest Associations in the development of women’s football is a perfect showcase for FIFA to underline its own commitment to the women's game“

Tour itinerary:

ASIA (AFC) December 2010 and February 2011

OCEANIA (OFC) December 2010

AFRICA (CAF) January 2011

EUROPE (UEFA) January and February 2011