Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Carlson and Prager named city ambassadors for Wolfsburg

The challenge of building up anticipation at local and regional level in the nine host venues for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011™ will be the city ambassadors. And in Wolfsburg, Britta Carlson and Roy Prager will be taking on this responsibility with immediate effect for the first FIFA Women's World Cup to be held in Germany. This "ambassadorial pairing" was named by Steffi Jones at the season opener of reigning German champions Wolfsburg.

"I am very proud of the fact that we have two such excellent representatives who as of today will be the face of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 in Wolfsburg. Britta Carlson, who is already a member of our OC official ambassador team, and Roy Prager are incredibly popular figures throughout the region and everyone can identify with them," said the OC president. "They represent the city and the VfL Wolfsburg team, and I am certain that their support will help the Women's World Cup in Wolfsburg to be a success."

Britta Carlson earned 31 caps for Germany, with victory at the UEFA Women's EURO in 2005 the defining moment of her national-team career. At club level, she won the UEFA Cup, the women's Bundesliga and two German Cups. Since hanging up her boots in 2008, Carlson has been co-coach of Wolfsburg's top-flight women's team. Along with Renate Lingor, Silke Rottenberg, Sandra Minnert and Manuela Schmermund, she is an official ambassador of the Organising Committee, drumming up support for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011.

Roy Prager enjoyed many career highlights at Wolfsburg, the former striker playing in a total of 154 first and second division matches, which featured 35 goals and a successful promotion campaign. He also played for Hamburg, with whom he appeared in both the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Cup.

There are other city ambassadors who have already been named, including Franziska van Almsick and Hansi Flick in Sinsheim, Dunja Hayali and Rainer Bonhof in Monchengladbach and Shary Reeves and Dariusz Wosz in Bochum. The remaining "FIFA World Cup duos" will be announced by the end of the year.

As well as appointing Britta Carlson and Roy Prager as ambassadors, Karl Rothmund - President of the Lower Saxony Football Association - was named President of the OC venue office in Wolfsburg.