FIFA Women's World Cup China PR 1991™
November 16 - November 30

FIFA Women's World Cup China PR 1991™

FIFA Women's World Cup China PR 1991™

Final Tournament Standing


USA triumph as history made in China PR 

  • USA win inaugural Women’s World Cup in 1991

  • Carin Jennings wins Golden Ball, Michelle Akers takes Golden Boot

  • Six female referees or assistant referees appointed for first time in FIFA history

Women's football celebrated its true coming of age in November of 1991 when the FIFA Women's World Cup was brought to life.

The first competition kicked off in China PR to large and enthusiastic crowds. With 12 nations competing, it proved to be a resounding success.

In keeping with the true spirit of the celebration, six female referees or assistant referees were appointed among match officials for the first time in FIFA history. Claudia de Vasconcelos of Brazil, the referee for the 3rd-place match, became the first woman to officiate at this level for FIFA.

The American team, led by a dominating forward line dubbed - the Triple Edged Sword - by the Chinese media, tore through the tournament to win the first-ever world championship for women's football.

Michelle Akers, Carin Jennings and April Heinrichs combined to score 20 of the 25 goals for the Stars and Stripes, including all five (Jennings 3, Heinrichs 2) in a 5-2 semi-final victory over Germany as well as both goals (Akers) in a 2-0 win over Norway to win the title.


Tournament News