The Hyundai Young Player Award

On 1 January 1995, memories of USA’s triumph at the first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup™ in 1991 were still fresh in the mind, as football fans looked forward to the subsequent edition of the tournament that summer, where Norway would eventually get the better of Germany in the Final in Sweden.

Intriguingly, on 1 January 1995, some of the players set to compete in the seventh Women’s World Cup that kicks off on 6 June had not yet been born. During Canada 2015, these precocious footballers will have the opportunity to leave a lasting imprint on the tournament by earning the prestigious Hyundai Young Player Award.

The recipient of the accolade will be determined by the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG), which will identify the young player who has made the greatest impact at the competition.

The criteria are both administrative – only players born after the aforementioned date in 1995 are eligible – and performance-related, taking into account aspects such as Exceptional skill level, Youthful and refreshing playing style, Creativity and inspiration, Tactical maturity and efficiency, Fan recognition through entertaining performances, Role model for young players and Positive attitude and fair play.

After studying all eligible players up to the semi-fina stage (Match 50), the TSG will unveil a three-woman shortlist after the semi-finals, and then announce the name of the deserved recipient, who will succeed Germany 2011 winner Caitlin Foord (Australia), after the Final, scheduled to be held in Vancouver on 5 July.