Royal Canadian Mint launches Canada 2015 collector coins

Fans can soon get their hands on a series of collector coins commemorating the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015™. The coins will be available approximately two months before this summer's opening match, with fine silver and pure gold coins included in the collection.

Victor Montagliani, Chair of the National Organising Committee and President of Canada Soccer, along with footballers Josee Belanger, Nkem Ezurike, Selenia Iacchelli and Emily Zurrer, all helped unveil the designs at two separate events more than 4,000 kilometres apart in Vancouver and Moncton on 18 March.

"Whether you're an active player or an avid fan cheering from the stands, the Mint has created exciting keepsakes which celebrate this prestigious sporting event coming to Canada," said Sandra L. Hanington, President and CEO of the Royal Canadian Mint. "With designs as heart-stopping as the action expected on the pitch, these coins capture the drama, intensity and diversity of competing at the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015."

The coin collection features:

  • A “$20 for $20” fine silver coin, sold at face value (designed by artist Joel Kimmel);

  • Four $10 fine silver coins (designed by artist Greg Banning) featuring the themes of “The Kicker”, “Heading the Ball”, “The Goalie” and “Celebration”;

  • Two Greg Banning-designed coloured $10 fine silver coins: “Canada Welcomes the World” and “Go Canada Go!”;

  • Three $75 pure gold coins: “The Soccer Ball” and “The Championship Game” (designed by Tony Bianco) and “The Trophy” (designed by Glen Green).

"We are honoured that this proud moment in Canadian sporting history will be permanently preserved in collector coins from the Royal Canadian Mint," said Montagliani. "These coins will help inspire a whole new generation to get involved in the game."

This summer's FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 commences on 6 June with the opening match in Edmonton, Alberta. The 52-match finals will be played from coast to coast across Canada, with matches in: Vancouver, British Columbia; Edmonton, Alberta; Winnipeg, Manitoba; Ottawa, Ontario; Montreal, Quebec; and Moncton, New Brunswick.