Japan 2012 venues and match schedule announced

Some of Japan’s premier stadiums will feature at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Japan 2012 following the announcement of the five host venues and the tournament match schedule.

The Local Organising Committee have confirmed the host venues and cities for the 2012 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup as Miyagi Stadium (Miyagi), Komaba Stadium (Saitama), National Stadium (Tokyo), Kobe Univer Stadium (Kobe) and Hiroshima Big Arch (Hiroshima).

Including amongst the venues are the Miyagi Stadium, host of matches at the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™, and the National Stadium in Tokyo, which was used during the summer Olympic Games in 1964.

Miyagi, a region which suffered significantly in last year’s earthquake and tsunami, will be the venue for the opening match on 19 August where the host nation will feature.

Meanwhile, the FIFA Executive Committee meeting held in Zurich over the past two days has confirmed the tournament match schedule (see attached document).

The participating nations for the 2012 FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup are: China PR, Korea DPR, Korea Republic (AFC), Canada, Mexico, USA (CONCACAF), Brazil, Argentina (CONMEBOL), Germany, Italy, Norway, Switzerland (UEFA) and of course hosts Japan. Oceania (one representative) and CAF (two representatives) will finalise the 16-team field when their qualifying tournaments conclude in April and May respectively.

The tournament, the first FIFA women’s event to be held since last year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup™ which was won by Japan, will be held between 19 August and 8 September.

Related Documents