Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup schedules approved

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup will open on 13 July 2010 in Bochum with the group including host nation Germany. The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup will thus begin a day earlier than originally planned, immediately following the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. The U-20 final will be played on 1 August in Bielefeld. Augsburg and Dresden provide the remaining venues. The official match schedule was approved on Friday in Zurich by the FIFA Executive Committee chaired by FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

The Committee also approved the regulations for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup 2010, and the number of places allotted to the FIFA confederations, as per the following: AFC (Asia) three teams, CAF (Africa) two teams, CONCACAF (North and Central America and the Caribbean) three teams, CONMEBOL (South America) two teams, UEFA (Europe) four teams, and OFC (Oceania) one team.

"All four venues have been allocated attractive matches, and the games have been evenly distributed. It was FIFA's express wish for the 32 matches at the 16-team tournament to be staged by stadiums which feature in the following year's FIFA Women's World Cup. In 2010, Bochum is a European City of Culture, so the tournament will be simple to integrate in a variety of supporting events themed around sport and integration," Organising Committee (OC) President Steffi Jones commented.

The FIFA Executive Committee last year resolved that FIFA Women's World Cup host nations should also stage the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup a year earlier. In the men's game, this model was adopted in 2001 with the FIFA Confederations Cup preceding the FIFA World Cup in the same country by a year.

The U-20 Women's World Cup, reformulated in 2006 as the successor to the U-19 Women's World Championship, will be contested for the fifth time. The inaugural finals were held in 2002 in Canada. Germany won the trophy in 2004 in Thailand, and finished third in last year's tournament in Chile.