Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Dresden in the spotlight: FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup draw

Despite the flight problems throughout large parts of Europe and the cancellation of the women's international between Germany and Sweden, Dresden is raring to go ahead of the draw for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. On Thursday, 22 April 2010 at 13:00 CET, the spectacular Residenzschloss in Dresden will be the venue for the draw for the most important women's football event of the year. Among the high-profile guests expected to attend are the Minister President of Saxony Stanislaw Tillich, Chairman of the Organising Committee for the FIFA U-20 and U-17 Women's World Cups Franz Beckenbauer, DFB General Secretary Wolfgang Niersbach, Mayor of Dresden Helma Orosz and OC President Steffi Jones.

As a result of the substantial restrictions on international air travel, some of the 16 participating associations have had to alter or cancel their trip to Dresden at short notice. Though all the various delegations had confirmed they would be travelling, only Brazil, Germany, France, Mexico, Nigeria and Switzerland were able to guarantee by Wednesday, 21 April at 10:00 CET, their attendance. Nonetheless, the draw for the group stages of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup 2010 will go ahead as planned on Thursday. Besides, the official press conference will take place at 12:00 CET.

"The cancellation of several associations is of course a great shame as we would have liked to have used the opportunity to welcome our guests to Germany for the first time. Even so, we're looking forward to an exciting draw. Together with FIFA and the City of Dresden, we've managed to put together a superb programme," said OC President Steffi Jones.

FIFA Head of Women's Competitions Tatjana Haenni will guide the audience through the draw ceremony. Women’s Bundesliga stars Alexandra Krieger (FFC Frankfurt/ USA), Yuki Nagasato (FFC Turbine Potsdam/Japan), Carol Carioca (USV Jena/Brazil), Adjoa Bayor (USV Jena/Ghana), Marie-Louise Bagehorn (FFC Turbine Potsdam/Germany) and Dzsenifer Marozsan (FFC Frankfurt/Germany) will make the draw itself, allocating the teams into four first-stage groups.

Individual match tickets for the 32-game FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, including the opening match featuring Germany in Bochum and the Final in Bielefeld, go on sale from Thursday via the official web portal at

The official news conference at midday on Thursday and the ensuing draw will be broadcast live on dfb-tv.