FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Chile 2008™
November 19 - December 07

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Chile 2008™

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Chile 2008™

Final Tournament Standing


Young stars shine at Chile 2008

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Chile 2008 will be remembered for various reasons: it yielded more goals than any of the three previous editions of the competition, it produced the 300th and 400th goals in the tournament's history and it also saw USA win the trophy for the second time. But, above all, it will be remembered for the legacy it has left the host nation.

The Chilean government gave its wholehearted backing to the event, rebuilding four stadiums to stage the matches. Furthermore, the Chilean FA (ANFP) underlined its commitment to women's football before the tournament even started by supporting the creation of an exciting new league championship and assisting the women's U-20 national team with its preparations for the big occasion.

And although the Rojitas failed to win any of their three games and fell at the first hurdle, they delighted the local fans with their courageous performances, which bode well for the future. Likewise, the response of the fans throughout the tournament showed that women's football has its place in South American society, which has traditionally been far more supportive of the men's game.

Aside from this cultural advance, Chile 2008 also saw the United States regain the trophy they first won at the inaugural competition at Canada 2002. Coach Tony DiCicco, who guided the Stars and Stripes to glory at the FIFA Women's World Cup USA 1999, worked his magic once more with a new generation of exciting talents spearheaded by strike duo Sydney Leroux and Alex Morgan and goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher. Between them Leroux and Naeher also accounted for the three main individual awards.

The Americans sealed their return to the top in style, seeing off reigning champions Korea DPR in the final, who bounced back from defeat to Brazil in their opening game to mount a strong defence of the title they won at Russia 2006. Refusing to panic after seeing his side go down to the South Americans, coach Choe Kwang Sok was confident his side would shake the jetlag out of their system and regain the solidity that has made them so feared. Their subsequent progress proved him right and only the superior finishing of the US strikers prevented his charges from retaining the cup.