Uruguay 2018 squads revealed

With just eight days to go before the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2018 gets under way in Uruguay, we now know the players who be will taking part in the sixth edition of the competition, as the fans around the globe are introduced to some of the emerging stars of women’s football.

Among the 336 players selected for the tournament, 24 of them were involved in the last edition of the U-17 Women’s World Cup at Jordan 2016. More recently, 15 of the players selected for this upcoming competition appeared this past August at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup France 2018.

Returning players include the Korea DPR trio of Ko Kyong-Hui, Pak Hye-Gyong and Ri Kum-Hyang, who appeared in all six of their team’s matches en route to the title at Jordan 2016. Spain’s Eva Navarro and Claudia Pina will also appear at Uruguay 2018 after scoring five goals between the pair two years ago, as La Rojita finished third at the last edition of the tournament. Ghana midfielder Fuseina Mumuni, meanwhile, will be making her third consecutive appearance at a U-17 Women’s World Cup. She was just 12 years old when she featured at Costa Rica 2014.

Meanwhile, Canada and CONCACAF champions USA will also arrive with experience in their ranks. Canadian quartet of Sophie Guilmette, Jordyn Huitema, Jayde Riviere and Caitlin Shaw, and the Stars and Stripes' Jordan Canniff all return.

Beginning on 13 November, this year's U-17 Women's World Cup will take place in the Uruguayan cities of Colonia de Sacramento, Maldonado and Montevideo, with the final set for 1 December.

Related Documents