Match schedule for Uruguay 2018 announced

  • 18 of the 32 matches will be played in Montevideo

  • Colonia del Sacramento to host eight games and Maldonado six matches

  • The official draw will take place in Zurich on 30 May

The FIFA Competition Organising Committee announced the match schedule for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Uruguay 2018 on Thursday. The competition runs from 13 November to 1 December, with the cities of Montevideo, Maldonado, and Colonia del Sacramento providing the venues.

Sixteen teams will be taking part, with 32 matches to be played in all. Eighteen of those matches will be played on the artificial pitch at the Estadio Charrua in Montevideo, including two of the host nation’s three group matches.

The Uruguayan capital will also play host to two quarter-finals, both semi-finals, the play-off for third place, and the final.

The Estadio Alberto Suppici in Colonia del Sacramento will stage eight matches, among them Uruguay’s last group outing and the first two quarter-finals (to be played on the same day), while the Estadio Domingo Burgueno Miguel in Maldonado will provide the venue for the six remaining games, all of them in the group phase. Both stadiums have grass pitches.

Did you know?

Five teams have qualified so far

  • Uruguay (hosts)

  • Korea DPR (the defending champions, qualified from the Asia Zone)

  • Korea Republic

  • Japan

  • New Zealand (qualified from the Oceania Zone)

Four qualifying competitions have yet to be played:

  • Africa (February)

  • South America (March)

  • CONCACAF (April)

  • Europe (May)

Finalists to learn their fate in Switzerland

The draw for Uruguay 2018, the sixth FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, will take place on Wednesday 30 May, at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.

Related Documents