Wednesday 31 May 2017, 07:31

Aussies name squad for June

  • Australia name squad for crucial World Cup qualifier/Confederations Cup

  • Three uncapped players included

  • Squad features ten veterans of 2014 World Cup in Brazil

Australia have announced a 23-man squad for a packed June schedule that incorporates a potentially decisive 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ qualifier against Saudi Arabia, a high-profile home international against Brazil and the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.

Squad lists for the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017 only become official once announced by FIFA in June.

Australia’s squad is a strong one and includes ten players who competed in the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

The squad contains just three uncapped players: midfielder Ajdin Hrustic, defender Dylan McGowan and A-League championship-winning goalkeeper Danny Vukovic.

Evergreen forward Tim Cahill is the lone survivor from Australia’s last appearance at the Confederations Cup in 2005.

“There has been some tough decisions in cutting the squad from 30 down to the final 23, but that’s a good sign of the strength of the squad we have been able to name and the depth we have been able to cultivate over the last three years,” said Australia coach Ange Postecoglou.

“If you look through the squad we now have a core group of players who have played 30, 40 and more caps and have experienced World Cup, Asian Cup and the tough road of World Cup qualifying.

“There are some players who are unlucky to miss out, but if you look at the 23 players we have selected everyone has earned their Socceroos call-up whether they are one of the experienced players with World Cup and Asian Cup experience or the three uncapped players.”

With three rounds remaining in Asian zone qualifying for the 2018 World Cup, Australia sit three points in arrears of group leaders Japan and second-placed Saudi Arabia.

Only the top two teams in the group qualify automatically for Russia 2018, with the third-placed team facing two play-offs.

Australia qualified for Russia 2017 after winning the AFC Asian Cup on home soil in early 2015. It was Australia’s first Asian crown having competed on two previous occasions since joining the Asian Football Confederation in 2006.

Australia have competed at three previous Confederations Cups, reaching the final in 1997 and finishing third in 2001.

Australia squad Goalkeepers: Mitchell Langerak (Stuttgart/Germany), Mathew Ryan (Genk/Belgium), Daniel Vukovic (Sydney FC)

Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor/Turkey), Milos Degenek (Yokohama F Marinos/Japan), Dylan McGowan (Pacos de Ferreira/Portugal), Ryan McGowan (Guizhou Zhicheng/China PR), Trent Sainsbury (Inter Milan/Italy), Brad Smith (Bournemouth/England), Bailey Wright (Bristol City/England)

Midfielders: Ajdin Hrustic (Groningen/Netherlands), Jackson Irvine (Burton Albion/England), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa/England), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers/England), Mark Milligan (Bani Yas/United Arab Emirates), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town/England), Tom Rogic (Celtic/Scotland)

Forwards: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City), Tomi Juric (Luzern/Switzerland), Robbie Kruse (uncontracted), Mathew Leckie (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Jamie McLaren (Darmstadt/Germany), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory)