Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Who will win the adidas Golden Ball award? YOU the media will decide!

As is tradition at FIFA competitions, it is the accredited members of the media who will play the crucial determining role for selecting the most outstanding player of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, a distinction honoured with the presentation of the coveted adidas Golden Ball.

Do not miss the opportunity to cast your vote – ballots can be obtained in the SMC in Berlin.

A shortlist has been drawn up by the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG) and, with only players who reached the last four considered eligible for selection, representatives of the media will pick from a field comprising three Frenchmen, two Germans, four Italians and a solitary Portuguese. The nominees are: Thierry Henry (FRA), Patrick Vieira (FRA), Zinedine Zidane (FRA), Michael Ballack (GER), Miroslav Klose (GER), Gianluigi Buffon (ITA), Fabio Cannavaro (ITA), Andrea Pirlo (ITA), Gianluca Zambrotta (ITA), and Maniche (POR)

Each accredited member of the media is entitled to nominate whom they feel were the top three players in the competition from the list of 10 candidates: a first-place vote is worth 5 points, a second-place vote gives 3 points and a third-place vote garners 1 point.

The voting points will be tallied by FIFA following the final whistle and the winner will be announced at 10:00 on Monday, 10 July. The players coming in second and third place in the voting will receive the adidas Silver Ball and adidas Bronze Ball respectively.

Please note that in order for FIFA to count your votes, all ballots must be submitted at the latest by 23:59 hours on 9 July in a designated ballot box.

Be sure to print your name and organisation clearly as illegible ballots will not be counted.

Who is the best player of the tournament? You tell us!