Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Six teams in the draw for European play-offs

On Wednesday, 12 October 2005, the Czech Republic, Norway, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland and Turkey sealed their place in the play-off draw, after coming second in their group in the qualifying competition of the 2006 FIFA World Cup™ in the European zone but without ranking as one of the two best runners-up.

The pairings for the three play-off matches will be drawn at FIFA headquarters in Zurich at 12.00h CET tomorrow, Friday, 14 October 2005.

The draw ceremony will be held in the presence of FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter and representatives of the six associations concerned (see attached document). The president of the Local Organising Committee of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Organising Committee Germany, Franz Beckenbauer, will be part of the draw.

The draw for the six remaining teams will be conducted as follows:

The names of the three best-placed teams in the September 2005 FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking – Czech Republic (4th), Spain (8th) and Turkey (12th) will be allocated to pot 1, whereas the other three - Norway (37th), Switzerland (38th) and Slovakia (45th)– will be placed in pot 2.

One name will be drawn from each pot to determine the pairings. Subsequently, the names of the paired teams will be put into another pot to decide which team will play the first leg at home.

The play-offs will be played on Saturday, 12 November 2005 and Wednesday, 16 November 2005.

Attending the draw from the federations concerned will be:

Norway: Mr Guttorm Dilling (Team administrator)

Slovakia: Mr Frantisek Laurinec (President), Mr Dusan Tittel (General Secretary), Mr Dusan Galis (National Team Head Coach), Mr Vojtech Miklos (Director of Sportprogress, SFA Marketing Partner)

Czech Republic: Mr Petr Fousek (General Secretary), Mr Jaroslav Dudl (International Director)

Spain: Mr Jorge Pérez Arias (General Secretary), Mr Luis Aragonés (National Team Coach), Ms Silvia Dorschnerova (Secretary to the National Team)

Switzerland: Mr Peter Gilléron (General Secretary), Mr Ernst Lämmli (Delegate National Team), Mr Jakob Kuhn (Coach), Mr Pierre Benoit (Head of Media)

Turkey: Mr Lutfi Ambogan (General Secretary), Mr Oguz Cetin (Team assistant coach), Mr Mehmet Özdilek (Team assistant coach)

Note to editors:

The draw ceremony will be open to the media. Accreditation is not required but, for organisational reasons, media representatives who wish to report live on the draw are requested to register by sending an e-mail to: will be broadcasting the draw live. FIFA will also produce an international signal which broadcasting companies may receive free of charge via satellite. For further information, please contact the following Swiss company:

SwissNews Corp. / Christian Lieberherr

Tel.: +41 44 4400 515

Fax: +41 44 4400 511

Mobile phone: +41 79 402 90 65