Media Release

Federation Internationale de Football Association

FIFA Strasse 20, P.O Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland, +41 (0) 43 222 7777

Media Invitation: adidas Golden Ball Nominations

At this adidas event the President of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Organizing Committee Franz Beckenbauer, Vice President of FIFA and Chairman of the FIFA Organizing Committee for the 2006 FIFA world Cup Lennart Johansson and Herbert Hainer, President and CEO of the adidas Group will formally announce the ten nominees for the adidas Golden Ball. The announcement will be followed by an on stage (closed) Q&A session with the MC. Unfortunately there will be NO room for interviews.

Where: adidas World of Football; Platz der Republik, Berlin

Who: Franz Beckenbauer, Lennart Johansson & Herbert Hainer

When: Thursday July 6, 2006

Time: 12:30 – 13:00 PM (Gates open from 11:45 AM)

The adidas Golden Ball for the 2006 FIFA World Cup is the official FIFA trophy for the "Best Player of the Tournament". The ten nominated players are selected by the Technical Study Group of FIFA. Around the FIFA World Cup final accredited media representatives will vote to determine the final winners of the adidas Golden, Silver and Bronze ball. The winners will only be announced on July 10th.

adidas Golden Ball past winners:

  • 1982 FIFA World Cup Spain Paulo Rossi Italy 1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico Diego Maradona Argentina 1990 FIFA World Cup Italy Salvatore Schillaci Italy 1994 FIFA World Cup USA Romario Brazil 1998 FIFA World Cup France Ronaldo Brazil 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea / Japan Oliver Kahn Germany

For more information please visit or contact Global PR:

Dorothee Kurz

Phone: +49 (0) 30 206039 -172

Mobile: +49 (0)1608 84 4043


Alberto de Torres Lacroze

+49 (0) 30 206039 -172

+49 (0)1608 84 4809